Mission Statement

Freewheelin’ Community Bikes connects youth with skills for life over a shared passion for the bicycle. We envision a stronger, healthier, more connected city.

​One bike, One youth, One relationship at a time… ​we are transforming Indianapolis into a city where bikes provide access to better lives.

Core Beliefs

Freewheelin’ believes in:
  • The worth and gifts of each person to enrich the world
  • Bicycling as accessible transportation for recreation, employment, and healthy living;
  • The importance of positive youth/adult mentorship;
  • Empowering youth as leaders who give back to their communities;
  • Lifelong learning, resiliency and persistence;
  • Positive neighborhood and community connections;
  • Making bicycling accessible and affordable; and,
  • Being welcoming to people of all backgrounds, abilities, and incomes.

Our Staff

Alison Cole

Executive Director
Alison has over 30-years of experience in community and workforce development working for a variety of public and not-for-profit organizations dedicated to the empowerment of families and communities. Before stepping into her current role, Alison served on Freewheelin’s Board of Directors. Her perspective from both sides has given her a vision to pursue a healthy, successful future for Freewheelin’ and the Indianapolis community.

Steve Nisi

Director of Retail Operations
Steven Nisi has been working in the cycling industry for 7 years. Since graduating from Kenyon College in 2014, he has been committed to sharing the love of cycling through education and bicycle maintenance. In his role as Director of Shop Operations at Freewheelin, he will share his experience in logistics management, professional bike maintenance, program development, and inventory management.

Jake Watson

Director of Education and Training
Jake began his career in 2014 helping with the launch of the Pacer’s Bikeshare System on behalf of the Indianapolis Cultural Trail. Serving as the Senior Operations Technician, he co-developed the fleet maintenance systems and training processes for new mechanics. Additionally, he worked as a bicycle mechanic for BGI and Freewheelin’ prior to stepping into his current role as Director of Education and Training. Jake is an MA student at IUPUI studying Applied Communication, enabling him to put current scholarly findings regarding effective communication into action at the ground level in youth development programs.

Elle Roberts

Program Coordinator
Elle graduated from IUPUI in 2015 with a degree in Anthropology, an experience that shaped her life and understanding of community and culture. An Indianapolis native, Elle grew to love the city and discover the beauty it held. Her interest in cycling as a commuter led her to the doors of Freewheelin’ and she never looked back. After volunteering with the organization for almost two years, Elle is now bringing her enthusiasm, loyalty, and empathy to the programs that serve the Mapleton-Fall Creek community and beyond.

Matt Madson

Bike Mechanic
Matt graduated from IUPUI’s Herron School of Art in 2014 and has used his creative problem-solving skills to advance the personal goals of Indianapolis cyclists and their equipment. This lead him to work for BGI, an industry leader, where his dedication allowed him to receive extensive training in bicycle mechanics and become a skilled and respected teacher in his own right. Matt lives in Mapleton Fall Creek and is excited to provide precision service and creative problem-solving skills to a vibrant community deserving of unique solutions.

Quinn Semsprott

Bike Mechanic
Quinn completed Freewheelin’s Earn a Bike in 2015 and continued developing his skills through Open Shop programming. Soon after he applied for and became a Freehweelin’ Apprentice. Quinn worked diligently to increase his skills and ultimately was hired to be a Mechanic in our Retail Shop. As a valued member of our staff, Quinn contributes to continuously improving our workflow and our customers experience.

Our Board of Directors

Chuck Okenfuss

Monroe Little
Vice Chairperson

Eric McNamar

John Mead

Kodi Akins

Helen Colby

Bob Karnek

James Malone

Mary Dicken

Sally Collins

Miles Johnson